Energy Recovery Fee (ERF) To help recover the energy, utility, and fuel costs related to its business operations, Fox must impose a separately stated Energy Recovery Fee (ERF) to all customers at its Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Utah, and Washington locations. Please check for all fees that apply to your rental during your car rental reservation process and prior to signing your rental agreement.
CFC Customer Facility Charge (CFC) will be charged at airport locations where they apply. Please refer to your rental agreement at the time of rental.
Concession Fee/Tourism Fee - Airport concession fee and tourism assessment fee Pursuant to California law, all rentals will be charged an airport concession fee and a tourism assessment fee at the time of rental.
Road Safety Fee Customer will be charged a fee for Denver and Phoenix only.
Miles-Rental rates include unlimited miles. Vehicles mileage per gallon is based on manufactures estimates.
Extensions - To extend the rental agreement, customers must contact the location. If vehicle is kept longer than the return date stated on the rental agreement (contract), the rate will increase by USD/10.00 per day. The increased rate will be charged for each day after expected return date, until the vehicle is returned. Please contact the Extension Department at 1 (800) 225 - 4369. Please refer to the Early/Late Return to avoid additional fees.
Drop off - If vehicle is returned to a different office as stated on the rental agreement (contract), renter will be charged the one-way drop fee. To confirm the drop off fee prior to return, call Customer Service 1 (800) 225 - 4369.
Length of Rental - Rental agreements (contract) cannot be assigned for a period longer than 30 days. If you have reserved the vehicle for a longer period of time, you must go into the location prior to the 31st day and renew the rental agreement (contract). The rate booked is guaranteed for the original duration of the reservation. Returns earlier or later than the return date on the reservation will be subject to a higher daily rate.
Grace Period - A rental day is each 24 hour time period commencing with the date/time indicated on the rental agreement (contract) at the time of rental. There is a 59 minutes grace period for return. Hourly charges may apply after this grace period. After three hours full-day charge may apply.
Rental Requirements - All renters/drivers will be required, at the time of rental, to supply a valid driver license (U.S., or Country License accompanied with an International license and passport), current home address (not P.O. Box), a current home and local contact number, and second contact phone number (cell or business).